Before applying for a fellowship from a WMU donor, you are strongly advised to explore all funding possibilities in your home country, such as from your own company or organization, national scholarship and fellowship programmes for study abroad, international scholarship and fellowship programmes, maritime sector organizations, and philanthropic foundations.

Make sure you find out about the requirements for each of these options well in advance of the start of your programme.

Find below a non-exhaustive list of institutes that may provide funding. The institutes' scholarships eligibility requirements are divided in;

  • general: applicable for all countries/applicants
  • multiple, but a limited number of countries
  • single country specific


For multiple, but a limited number of countries:


Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burundi, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Cote d`lvoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Kenya, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Rwanda, Sao Tome& Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Asia and the Middle East:

Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, India, Korea DR, Kyrgyz Republic, Lao PDR, Lebanon, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Palestine, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Syria, Tajikistan, Thailand, Tonga, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Yemen

Latin America and the Caribbean:

Antigua Barbuda , Belize, Barbados, Brazil, Bolivia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Grenada, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guyana, Haiti, , Dominican Republic, Guatemala, Honduras, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Peru, Panama, St. Christopher, St. Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.


Albania , Bosnia Herzegovina

Single country specific: