d.fisher [at]
Area of Interest / Keywords: 

Darrell Fisher

Visiting professor
Ph.D. Philosophy Macquarie University
Master of Education University of Tasmania
Bachelor of Education Monash University
B.S. University of Tasmania
Diploma of Education University of Tasmania



Darrell Fisher is Professor of Science Education at the national Key Centre for School Science and Mathematics, Curtin University, in Perth Western Australia. He has a Doctor of Philosophy degree from Macquarie University, Sydney, a Bachelor of Education degree from Monash University, Melbourne and a Bachelor of Science and Master of Education from the University of Tasmania. He has an extensive publication and presentation record of over 700 books, journal articles and conference papers. His research has involved studies of classroom learning environments and teachers’ interpersonal behaviour, and their associations with learning outcomes. The research has now extended to Web-based teaching and learning. The majority of his teaching now involves the supervision of postgraduate students. Since he took up a position at the Key Centre in 1993, he has supervised over 80 students to successful completion of their doctoral degrees.


Professional Affiliations: 

  • International Maritime Lecturers’ Association
  • Australian Association for Research in Education
  • American Educational Research Association
  • National Association for Research in Science Teaching 


FACE (Fellow of Australian College of Education) Executive Dean’s Award for Senior Researcher of the Year in the Division of Science and Engineering (2007), Curtin University Dean’s Medallion for Distinguished Teaching in the Discipline of Science (Curtin, 2000) Three Outstanding Paper Awards, American Educational Research Association (1998, 2003, 2007) Outstanding Paper Award, National Association for Research in Science Teaching (NARST) (1984) NARST Practical Applications Award (1986)

Over $2 million in research grants including: Seven ARC (Australian Research Council) Large Grants (Two grants in 1996–97, 1999–2001, 2003-2005, 2004-2006, two grants for 2009-2011)