WMU Graduates at IMO Assembly
December 5, 2017 - 11:33am

On 1 December, Mr. Kitack Lim, WMU Chancellor and Secretary-General of the International Maritime Organization (IMO) and Dr. Cleopatra Doumbia-Henry, President of the World Maritime University (WMU), gathered with the WMU graduates in attendance at the 30th Session of the IMO Assembly.

With 4,654 graduates from 167 countries, WMU has a remarkable presence in the maritime sector. Many WMU graduates represent their countries at the IMO or are members of the IMO staff. Mr. Kitack Lim is the first WMU alumnus to hold the position of IMO Secretary-General and Chancellor of WMU and Mr Lawrence Barchue is the first WMU alumnus to occupy the position of Assistant-Secretary General.

President Doumbia-Henry stated, “Whenever I am at IMO, I am pleased to see the number of WMU graduates occupying significant roles and senior positions in service of the maritime community to ensure safe, secure and sustainable shipping on clean oceans. Founded by the IMO in 1983, WMU has served the IMO and its mission by educating a global network of maritime experts with the requisite knowledge and expertise enabling them to support governments and organizations worldwide to effectively implement IMO Conventions as well as the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals.”

The Assembly is the IMO’s highest governing body. It is responsible for approving the work programme and budget as well as determining financial arrangements and electing the IMO Council. The Assembly consists of all IMO Member States and meets once every two years.

Last updated date

December 5, 2017

Share this story

Recent News

The World Maritime University welcomes and supports the International Maritime Organization’s climate chan
On 10 April, President Doumbia-Henry and Dr. Dakuku A.
On 27 March, President Doumbia-Henry welcomed Mr.
On 16 March, the SEAPLANSPACE project kickoff meeting took place at the University of Gdansk in Poland.
The Third Extraordinary Session of the WMU Board of Governors (BOG) took place on 17 March and was hosted by the Government of the Republic of Turkey.