Board of governors

Maritime & Ocean Postgraduate Education, Research and Capacity Building
Governance & StructureBoard of GovernorsExecutive Board

board of governors


Arsenio A. Dominguez
WMU Chancellor and Secretary-General of the International Maritime Organization


Maryanne Adams
Deputy Commissioner of Maritime Affairs of the Republic of the Marshall Islands
H.E. Aureny Aguirre O. Sunza
Ambassador, Unit for North America, Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Essam M. Al Ammari
Transport General Authority, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
Robert Ashdown
Secretary General of the International Association of Classification Societies (IACS)
Fabrizio Barcellona
Assistant Section Secretary, Seafarers, Fisheries and Inland Navigation, International Transport Workers' Federation
Peter Broadhurst
Senior Vice President, Safety and Security Services, Inmarsat
Sindisiwe Chikunga
Deputy Minister of Transport, South Africa
H.E. Captain Ian Finley
Ambassador, and Permanent Representative of the Cook Islands to the International Maritime Organization
Siv Christin Gaalaas
Specialty Director- International Maritime Regulation and Polar Affairs Department for Maritime Policy and Coastal development Norwegian Ministry of Trade, Industry and Fisheries
H.E. Ambassador Dwight C.R. Gardiner
Director/Registrar-General of the Antigua and Barbuda Department of Marine Services and Merchant Shipping
Ismail Abdel Ghafar Farag
President, Arab Academy for Science, Technology and Maritime Transport (AASTMT)
Min Jong Kim
President, Korea Institute of Maritime Fisheries and Technology (KIMFT)
Reinhard Klingen
Directorate-General (retired), Federal Ministry for Digital and Transport, Germany
Joanna Manger
Director General, Marine Safety & Security, Transport Canada
H.E. Laurent Parenté
Director-General, International Mobile Satellite Organization (IMSO)
Guy Platten
Secretary General, International Chamber of Shipping
Vice Admiral Rodolfo Sablich Luna Victoria
Director General of Captaincies and Coast Guard
Shan Hongjun
President and Professor, Dalian Maritime University
Malini V. Shankar
Vice Chancellor, Indian Maritime University, Chennai; Chairperson of the National Shipping Board, Government of India; Director General of Shipping, (Ret.)
Gaute Sivertsen
Director, IOPC Funds
Annalisse Skelton
Alternate Permanent Representative of Australia to the International Maritime Organization
Jannicke Steen
VP People and Performance, Grieg Maritime Group
Enrique Vargas Guerra
Commander LT, Head of the IMO Audit Division, International Affairs Department, DIRECTEMAR

Ex Officio members

Gerardo Borromeo
Chairperson of the WMU Executive Board; Vice Chairman, Chief Executive Officer, Philippine Transmarine Carriers
Jose Matheickal
Director, Technical Cooperation and Implementation Division, International Maritime Organization
Maria Gelin
Deputy Director-General/Head of Division, Transport Markets, Ministry of Infrastructure, Sweden
Carina Nilsson
Chairperson, Malmö City Council